grit

Grit is a personality trait which was defined as “perseverance and passion for long-term goals” by Angela Duckworth and her colleagues.

Did you know about grit before today? Because I sure did not.

I had a workshop today. I did not know what the workshop was about, why it was there or any of those stuff. The only reason I was there was because I needed the community service hour, and I was free. So I thought, why not?

But the workshop turned out to be much better than I expected. It made me realize a lot of things. And I know I have to change most of them.

If you don’t know what grit means or who Angela Duckworth is, you should look her up on Google. Also, listen to her Ted talk, because once you do, you will be inspired to change yourself.

In the duration of the workshop, I realized that I had a very fixed mindset. I was so fixated on my grades that I didn’t really care about my progress, my growth. I was brought up with this thought of getting the best grades in all the tests that I abandoned everything else. I am lazy, I don’t put in enough effort as compared to others. Even though I can grasp concepts quickly, I am cocky about it.

Now tell me, what is the point of being intelligent if your character is rotten to the core, and your mindset sucks?

So it’s time to change, and hopefully, this time I will be successful.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started